Book Review: The Lie by C L Taylor

The Lie

“This was no accident…

Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter.

I know your name’s not really Jane Hughes . . .

Jane Hughes has a loving partner, a job in an animal sanctuary and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She’s happier than she’s ever been but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist.

Five years earlier Jane and her then best friends went on holiday but what should have been the trip of a lifetime rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of the women.

Jane has tried to put the past behind her but someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed Jane and everything she loves . .”

This was recommended to me by a friend on Twitter – and we usually have similar tastes in books, so I had high hopes.  I wasn’t disappointed.

From early on I was intrigued as to what was going to happen both in the present day story and back 5 years ago on the ‘trip of a lifetime’.  The chapters flipped between the 2 time periods, but it didn’t feel formulaic at all.  The tension kept building in both story lines and it really kept me wanting to come back and read more.

There were a few times when I wanted to shout at Emma / Jane – as is often the case in these types of books – but overall I did like her (which is always a bonus – and makes a big difference from Gone Girl where everyone was unlikeable!)

It felt well written, and whilst keeping you entertained, wasn’t too complex a read.  I’d definitely recommend this to fans of this genre.

.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s