Out of the mouth of babes….

I posted the other day some random things the 3 year old has said, well, she surpassed herself at the dinner table last night!

For context:

D is my eldest daughter (11),
L is second child (9, but 10 next week!) and the only boy,
E is the 4 year old, who doesn’t feature in this tale, so must have been behaving well and eating nicely
G is the youngest at 3.

So, I am busy doing ‘Mummy jobs’ (putting away the washing / checking social media!) whilst the kids are eating their tea and I hear:

D: “Mummy, Mummy, L called me fat”
G: “You’re not fat D, it’s Mummy that’s fat.”

Great………….

It’s a good job she’s cute.

 

Georgia

Wicked Wednesday – 11 February 2015

These photos are a bit retro as I was flicking through old pics having upgraded my phone (at last!)

They were taken when we were on holiday in Italy in summer 2013, when the youngest was only 1 (which makes them even worse!!)

Firstly she found the (empty) bottle of prosecco we’d been drinking in the garden……

Prosecco - Copy

Then went into the house and got the almost full gin bottle.

Gin - Copy

I blame the parents, oh wait…………

#pleasedontcallsocialservices

These are my less than perfect family photos for this week’s Wicked Wednesday – do go and see others too!

brummymummyof2

Random musings of a 3 year old

When I started this blog one of the things I wanted it to be was a record of stuff that the Price family get up to – so we’ve reviewed places we’ve been, taken ridiculous #wickedWednesday photos and done various brain dumps – but the blog does look like it might turn into a list of books I’ve read if I’m not careful.

So – before I forget – here are 2 bizarre things said by the littlest Price this week.

1. I asked her if she wanted me to do her hair, or if she wanted to do it herself. She looked at me, incredulously, and said ‘Mummy, I can’t do my own hair because my arms are attached to my body.’ Right! Must make sense if you’re 3!!

2. She watched me putting a chicken into the oven to roast for Sunday lunch to which she commented ‘Mummy, I don’t think that chicken likes being dead.’ There speaks a future vegetarian!!

roast chicken

I must try and remember to document more random musings of all of the kids (and maybe even reminisce about the older 2 so they don’t escape the ‘things you said as a toddler’ discussions in future years!)

Book Review: The Book of You by Claire Kendal

I was lucky enough to be sent a copy of ‘The Book of You’ to review by the guys at Mumsnet.

The Book of You

And here’s what Amazon has to say:

“A terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep.

Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won’t leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there.

Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can’t be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young woman on the witness stand.

Realizing that she bears the burden of proof, Clarissa unravels the twisted, macabre fairytale that Rafe has spun around them – and discovers that the ending he envisions is more terrifying than she could have imagined.”

From the outset I really enjoyed this – way more than Gone Girl – and mostly because you actually care about Clarissa and what is going to happen to her.  The book has some chapters written in the first person, almost as diary entries – and others in the third person.  I’m not sure it particularly adds anything to the book – but equally doesn’t distract.

It is very clever writing about Clarissa being stalked, but weaving in the plots of other women having similar issues.  It makes you realise how difficult it can be for stalking victims to be believed.

Some of it is set in court where Clarissa is on jury service – and I enjoyed this having been through court proceedings myself a couple of years ago (thankfully no one was harmed before our trial apart from some sticklebacks – although they did prove to be very expensive sticklebacks for us – but that’s a whole other story!)

At times I did just want to shout at Clarissa ‘for goodness sake, please tell someone what’s going on’ – but you can understand how she wanted to gain enough evidence to be believed.

It really is a ‘just one more chapter, suddenly it’s 1am’ kind of book!

The book also cross references a number of fairy tales – I didn’t realise how dark some were – frightening.  Think I’ll stick to the mainstream ones with my kids.

The ending is not what I expected at all – but I really respect Claire Kendal for that.  I can’t say any more without giving it away – you’ll just have to read it yourself – and I would thoroughly recommend that you do!

Book Review – Look Behind You by Sibel Hodge

I love a bargain – and this book was free with ‘Kindleunlimited’ through my Amazon Prime account (a 21st century library – without the germs my Nan always reckoned you got from books you borrowed!!) I hadn’t read any reviews – but it sounded my cup of tea so I downloaded it.

Look Behind You

This is what Amazon has to say:

“Chloe Benson wakes up kidnapped and bound in an underground tomb with no memory of how she got there.
She manages to escape but no one believes her story—not the police, not the doctors, and especially not her husband, Liam.
When she suspects Liam is lying to her, Chloe is forced to retrace her past, following in her own footsteps to find the truth and stay alive. But who is following Chloe?
Look behind you. You never know who’s out there.”

I really, really enjoyed it – and not just because it was a freebie! I read it quite quickly because it was very exciting and full of suspense. I liked Chloe and wanted her to find out what had happened to her – although was nervous for her of whom she could and couldn’t trust along the way.

My only one negative is that the ending is quite abrupt. With just 5% left to go (that would have been ‘a few pages’ in the olden days!!) I was concerned how it was all going to get concluded – and it was all a bit swift – but at least the loose ends were pretty much tied up.

It was really well written – and I will definitely be looking for other books by Ms Hodge. Now what freebie to chose next………..